Spanish Evening

Both works  that arose in completely different regions of Europe and in different periods have a lot in common though. As often happens, the best works are created in a very short time.

The sketch of the Quintet in E-flat major by  R. Schumann was composed between 23 and 29 September  1842 and two weeks later the piece was ready to be performed. Initially, the most popular of his chamber works was supposed to be dedicated to the Queen Mary, but finally was devoted to his wife, pianist Clara Schumann.

The first private performance of the “Quintet” took place on 8 December 1842. The piano part for Clara Schumann was played by Felix Mendelssohn – friend of Schumanns. During the official premiere in January 1843, Clara Schumann played that part herself and she was accompanied by the concertmasters of Gewandhaus.

Quartet in D major was also made within several days and this work was also dedicated to the composer's wife, pianist Jekaterina Protopopov. While in the case of Schumann, his fast pace of work was more of a natural, whereas in the case of Borodin, it was something special. Alexander Borodin - profession chemist, doctor, lecturer who could speak three languages ​​fluently and play on five instruments (piano, flute, oboe, clarinet, cello), had little time for composing.

Both compositions quickly gained the recognition and today they constitute the "core repertoire" of chamber ensembles.

Wojciech Waleczek /piano/
TSO String Quartet:
Izabela BOGUSZ /I violin/
Grzegorz BOGUSZ /II violin/
Marta WRONISZEWSKA /viola/
KAROL Wroniszewski /cello/

Tickets: 25/15 PLN

District Museum - Old Town Square
26/07/2014 - 8:00 pm