Evening of the Sonatas

Daroch Duo:
Tomasz Daroch /cello/
Maria Daroch /piano/

C.Debussy - Sonata for cello and piano
F.Poulenc - Sonata op.143
Fr. Chopin - Sonata in G minor for cello and piano op.65

Extremely talented young people, siblings Maria and Tomasz Daroch, perform as a duo since the beginning of their music adventure. For the concert in Toruń they chose works that can enchant both the connoisseurs and casual listeners. All selected sonatas are so-called “iron repertoire” of the greatest pianists and cellists.

Sonata for Piano and Cello in G minor, Op. 65, was composed by F. Chopin in 1846 and was published as Opus 65. It was the last work that came out during Chopin's lifetime. The premiere took place on 16 February 1848, in the Salle Pleyel. Sonata is one of the few chamber works created by the composer.

Claude Debussy began his studies at the Paris Conservatory at the age of 11. Nadezhda von Mecks’ (a mysterious patroness of Pyotr Tchaikovsky) interest in his work, enabled the young Debussy to get to know the trends in Russian music - mainly Mussorgsky and Borodin. In 1880 Debussy began composition studies and four years later won the prestigious Prix de Rome, which allowed him to extend his musical studies for a further two years in Rome. During his studies as a composer Debussy proved to be equally efficient in the orchestral forms, piano miniatures, vocal forms, and in the forms of chamber music. A perfect example is the Sonata for cello and piano.

Francis Poulenc never completed any music studies. He only learned to play the piano with Ricardo Vines - eminent pianist, and studied composition with Charles Koechlin. His extensive interests in composition resulted in many sonatas for various instruments, among others, composed in 1948, Sonata for cello and piano, op.143. Like the other compositions, this piece is characterized by rhythmic and melodic richness.

Tickets: 25/15 PLN

Great Hall of the Artus Court
9 August, 8:00 pm